Egg is popularly considered a non-vegetarian food, but there are several facts that do not entirely support this statement. If we go by the definition that those who eat flesh are non-vegetarians, egg is indeed vegetarian as it has no flesh or life.
2. But eggs come from chicken!
Eggs come from chicken, but they are not obtained by killing chicken, like caviar or fish eggs are obtained. Not every product that comes out of animal is non-vegetarian, the best example being milk.
3. Egg white is the purest
Eggs contain three parts- the shell, the albumen (white) and the yolk. The egg white is a suspension of the protein albumen in water. It contains no animal cell. Hence, egg whites are vegetarian and all products containing egg whites are, technically, vegetarian.
4. Yolk too is mostly veg, but….
Most of the yolk is a suspension of fat, cholesterol and protein in water, but since the gamete cells cannot completely be demarcated from the yellow portion, the yolk is non-veg.
5. Eggs could have given chicks
Most eggs available in the market are unfertilized ones, so there is hardly a possibility that a chick could have come out of it, had you spared that egg!
I am a blogger with the main motive of writing articles at my choice of level. I do love to write articles and keep my website updated regularly , if you love my article then be sure to share with your friends as they would love to read my article...